Naveen Patnaik takes oath as Odisha CM for 5th consecutive term, Modi congratulates him

Share this post on:

New Delhi, May 29 : Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Wednesday congratulated Biju Janata Dal (BJD) supremo Naveen Patnaik on taking oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha for the fifth consecutive term.

Modi wrote on Twitter,” Congratulations to Naveen Patnaik Ji on taking oath as Odisha’s Chief Minister. Best wishes to him and his team in fulfilling the team’s aspirations. I assure complete cooperation from the Centre in working for Odisha’s progress.”

The Prime Minister expressed complete cooperation from the Centre towards the progress of Odisha.

PM Modi was invited by Patnaik today for his swearing ceremony as the new CM, instead the, Prime Minister could not attend the function but after taking oath, he extended his warm wishes to Patnaik on being sworn as the new CM.

Patnaik today took oath as the Chief Minister of Odisha in the presence of Governor Ganeshi Lal.

Many other BJD leaders too were appointed portfolios in the state ministry taking oath along with Naveen Patnaik as CM in the swearing-in ceremony at the Raj Bhavan in Bhubaneshwar.

In the recent  state Assembly elections, out of 147 seats BJD led by Patnaik secured 112 seats.

It is noteworthy that PM Modi congratulated the BJD supremo for registering win in the Assembly elections which was reciprocated by Patnaik wishing PM Modi on BJP’s historic victory in the Lok Sabha elections.

The BJP had made massive inroads in the recent Lok Sabha elections, winning 8 parliamentary seats while BJD bagged 12 seats.

The swearing ceremony of Patnaik comes a day ahead of Narendra Modi being re-elected as the Prime Minister for  a second term on May 30.