First time ever, IAF’s MI-17 choppers to shower flowers petals soon after PM Modi unfurls National Flag at Red Fort

New Delhi, August 14: This will be the first time ever two MI-17 1V helicopters of the Indian Air Force (IAF) in Amrut Formation will shower flower petals at the venue soon after the Prime Minister Modi unfurls the National Flag.  

The entire nation is celebrating the ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ on the 75th year of independence from foreign rule. The whole country is immersed in the spirit of patriotism. Countless programs are being organized across the country on behalf of various Ministries of Government of India, various State Governments and Union Territories, Armed Forces and general public on this occasion.

The country’s main event will take place from the ramparts of the Red Fort in New Delhi where Prime Minister Narendra Modi will unfurl the national flag and address the nation in a traditional way.

The Prime Minister started the ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ from Sabarmati Ashram in Ahmedabad, Gujarat in March 2021 to celebrate the 75th year of India’s independence. The celebrations will continue till August 15, 2023. Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Minister of State for Defense Ajay Bhatt and Defense Secretary Ajay Kumar will receive the Prime Minister upon his arrival at the Red Fort.

Defense Secretary Ajay Kumar will introduce the General Officer Commanding (GOC) Delhi Region Lt Gen Vijay Kumar Mishra to the Prime Minister.

After this, GOC General Mishra of Delhi region will take Narendra Modi to the saluting base. Here the guards of Joint Inter-Services and Delhi Police will give a general salute to the Prime Minister.

After this, the Prime Minister will inspect the guard of salute.

The Guard of Honour for the Prime Minister will consist of one officer and 20 personnel each from the Army, Navy, Air Force and Delhi Police.

Commander Piyush Gaur will command the Guard of Honour. The Naval contingent in the Prime Minister’s Guard is commanded by Lieutenant Commander Sune Phogat, the Army contingent is commanded by Major Vikas Sangwan and the Air Force contingent is commanded by Squadron Leader A.K. Berwal will take over.

The Delhi Police team will be commanded by Additional DCP (West District) Subodh Kumar Goswami.

After inspecting the Guard of Salute, Prime Minister Modi will leave for the Red Fort’s ramparts.

There, the Prime Minister will be received by Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, Minister of State for Defense Ajay Bhatt, Chief of Defense Staff (CDS) General Bipin Rawat, Chief of Army Staff General MM Naravane, Chief of the Navy Admiral Karambir Singh and Chief of the Air Staff, Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria.

The GOC of Delhi Region will take the Prime Minister to the ramparts stage to unfurl the National Flag.

After the unfurling of the flag, a ‘National Salute’ will be given to the tricolour. During the unfurling of the National Flag and the ‘National Salute’, the Navy Band contingent will play the National Anthem comprising 16 members. The band will be moderated by MCPO Vincent Johnson. Lt. Commander P. Priambada Sahu will assist the Prime Minister in unfurling the national flag. This will be synchronized with a 21-gun salute fired by the brave gunners of the ELITE 2233 Field Battery (Formal).

The Ceremonial Battery will be commanded by Lt Col Jitendra Singh Mehta and Gun Position Officer Naib Subedar (AIG) Anil Chand.

The National Flag Guard will consist of five officers and 130 personnel of Army, Navy, Air Force and Delhi Police who will give the national salute to the Prime Minister at the time of unfurling of the National Flag. Indian Navy Commander Kuldeep M. Neralkar will command the Inter-Services Guard and the Police Guard.

Similarly, the Naval contingent in the National Flag Guard will be commanded by Lieutenant Commander Praveen Saraswat, the Army contingent will be commanded by Major Anshul Kumar and the Air Force contingent will be commanded by Squadron Leader Rohit Malik. The Delhi Police team will be commanded by Additional DCP (South West District) Amit Goel.

Thirty-two Olympic winners including Army Subedar Neeraj Chopra, who won India’s first gold medal in the javelin throw at the Tokyo Olympics, along with two officials from the Sports Authority of India (SAI) were invited to attend the ceremony at the Red Fort. Around 240 Olympians, support staff and officials from SAI and Sports Federation have also been invited to grace the Gyan Path in front of the ramparts. In Tokyo, India posted its best ever Olympics performance, winning a total of seven medals, including one gold, two silver and four bronze medals.

A separate block has been constructed on the south side of the ramparts in honor of the Corona warriors.

The first helicopter will be captained by Wing Commander Baldev Singh Bisht and the second helicopter will be commanded by Wing Commander Nikhil Mehrotra.

After the shower of flower petals, the Prime Minister will address the nation. The National Cadet Corps (NCC) cadets will sing the National Anthem at the conclusion of the Prime Minister’s speech. Five hundred NCC cadets from different schools will also participate in this festival of national gaiety.

How useful was this News?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating 5 / 5. Vote count: 1

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this news.

As you found this news useful...

Follow us on social media!