AAP announces three candidates for Uttar Pradesh

Share this post on:

Shruti Kumar

Lucknow: Aam Aadmi Party [AAP] released its first list of three candidates from Uttar Pradesh for Lok Sabha polls on Sunday where the party has announced to support the SP-BSP alliance seats where its candidates are not in fary.

From the Western UP district of Saharanpur , party’s local leader Yogesh Dahia will be the candidate and from Aligarh district Satish Chandra Sharma will be in fary.

Sabhajeet Singh, state spokesperson of AAP , stated that the party will contest on select few seats in the state.

“Party’s main contention will be to defeat BJP on which AAP candidates are not in contest,” said Singh.

“ We will support SP-BSP alliance on seats where AAP candidates are not in fary,” said Vaibhav Maheshwari, state spokesperson , AAP.

Sanjay Singh, AAP incharge of Uttar Pradesh , will soon be in Lucknow to hold a meeting with party workers to formulate startegy for campaign.

“On seats where Congress candidates are in a formidable position to defeat BJP candidates as compared to the SP-BSP allinace , the AAP will support Congress,” said Maheshwari .

Uttar Pradesh has proved to be a tough state for AAP to make inroads into and get political acceptability. The 2019 Lok Sabha poll not be an exception.

In 2014 Lok Sabha polls, almost all AAP candidates had lost their deposit in Uttar Pradesh. Barring party’s national convenor and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal, who had contested against Narendra Modi from Varanasi, no AAP candidate was able to leave a mark in 2014 Lok Sabha poll in Uttar Pradesh.

Modi, who was then PM candidate of the NDA , had polled 5,81,022 votes as campared to 2,09,238 of Kejriwal. Modi won by a huge margin of 3,81,784 votes.

It was in 2014  general elections that the AAP made a foray into electoral politics in Uttar Pradesh . But all its candidates failed to make even an impact in Lok Sabha polls.

The AAP leadership also did not contest 2017 assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh. However, the party had contested 2017 civic polls in the state where it was able to secure victory on 45 municipal corporation and nagar palika seats across the state.