UPSRTC extends suspension of inter-state bus service till June 5

Share this post on:

Lucknow, 17 May: The Uttar Pradesh State Road Transport Corporation (UPSRTC) has now banned inter-state buses plying to several states including Delhi due to Corona infection till June 05. Till now this moratorium was till May 20.

General Manager (GM) of UPSRTC DB Singh said on Monday that interstate roadways buses plying between several districts of the state including the capital Lucknow and other states will no longer be operational till June 05.

โ€œPrior to this, about 700 buses were operating on different routes between Uttar Pradesh to Delhi, Uttarakhand, Rajasthan, Bihar, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, and Chandigarh. These included AC buses with general buses, AC sleeper coaches, AC Shatabdi, Scania and Volvo buses. More than 15,000 passengers used to travel through these buses,โ€ he added.

He said that the buses of Delhi, Bihar, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Haryana and Uttarakhand, etc. will remain closed from the different districts of the state until the government ban on the operation of interstate buses is lifted. Along with this, the Transport Corporation has also stopped booking online seats between other states till June 05.

In fact, the most impact of this ban has been on the buses of Jhansi, Agra, Saharanpur and Meerut enclaves. Roadways buses from Lucknow to Jaipur, Gurugram, Dehradun, Kathgodam, Gwalior and Gaya are at a standstill. Therefore, commuters travelling are facing difficulties.