KP Sharma Oli again sworn in as Prime Minister in Nepal

Share this post on:

Kathmandu, 14 May: Nepal’s Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli has sworn in as the Prime Minister for the third time. Oli was sworn in at the Rashtrapati Niwas (Sheetal Niwas) during the ceremonial ceremony at 2:30 pm.

In fact, the opposition failed to get a majority in the House after which President Bidya Devi Bhandari has appointed Oli as Prime Minister. They will have to prove a majority in the next 30 days.

However, earlier on Monday, Oli lost the confidence vote in the House of Representatives. After this, the President had set a deadline for government formation within three days till Thursday night, but due to mutual faction among political factions, there could not be a consensus among these people to form a government. With this, KP Sharma Oli again became Prime Minister.

Sher Bahadur Deuba-led Nepal Congress had decided to stake claim for the post of Prime Minister on Tuesday but due to lack of consensus among political parties, they could not form the government. The reason for this was the refusal of Mahant Thakur-led Janata Samajwadi Party-Nepal (JSP-N) to join the government.