Dadra-Nagar Haveli and Daman-Diu to be merged, bill passed in Lok Sabha

Share this post on:

New Delhi, 27 November: The bill to make Dadra-Nagar Haveli and Daman-Diu one union territory by merging them was passed in the Lok Sabha on Wednesday.

Replying to the discussion on Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill, 2019, Minister of State for Home Kishan Reddy said that this bill has been introduced to improve administration in both union territories. Integrating the two union territories will increase administrative ease and ensure development. Apart from this, there will be no change in the Lok Sabha seats as well.

Replying to the discussion on the Bill in the House, Minister of State for Home Kishan Reddy made it clear on the fears of the members about the reservation of the people of the tribal community of the region that under the Constitution, the reservation will be provided to the Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes in the same way, there will be no change in it. During the discussion, Lalubhai Patel of BJP said that Dadra-Nagar Haveli and Daman-Diu should get assembly like Puducherry.

The objectives and reasons of the Bill stated that it has been decided to merge the two union territories considering the low population and limited geographical area.

Currently, there are a total of nine union territories including the recently formed Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh. By joining together Dadar-Nagar Haveli and Daman-Diu, their number will now increase to eight. Other union territories are Chandigarh, Delhi, Puducherry, Andaman-Nicobar and Lakshadweep. Among these are the Union Territories of Delhi, Puducherry and Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly.

Share this post on: