Unorganized sector employees to get holiday on polling day, EC in talks

Share this post on:

New Delhi, October 3: In order to make voters aware, All India Radio and the Chief Election Commission jointly started the Voter Junction programme. The 52-episode weekly series was launched in the event held on Monday. The 15-minute Voter Junction program will be broadcast on all AIR channels from October 7 in 23 languages and 182 dialects.

On this occasion, the Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar said that the jugalbandi of All India Radio and Election Commission will become a powerful medium in connecting the people with the voter junction. It will work to make the youth of the country aware of voting, he said that the day of polling is declared as a holiday in the country. But employees in the unorganized sectors and private institutions will also get leave so that they can cast their vote. For this, the Commission has discussed with the people of the unorganized sectors through the State Commission. For this, nodal officers have also been posted at the block level, who will ensure that workers in unorganized work areas like brick kilns can vote. He said that the Commission is working at all levels right from adding youth in the voter list to imposing electoral duty to ensure smooth and successful conduct of voting.

Speaking on the occasion, Mayank Kumar Aggarwal, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of Prasar Bharati said that Voter Junction is a program for citizens to answer questions related to the importance of voting in their own language. In its 52nd episode, all the questions of the people will be answered. Not only this, people can also know the answers to their doubts and questions in the program which is aired every Friday. Election Commissioner Anoop Chandra Pandey, Director General of All India Radio Vasudha Gupta and actor Pankaj Tripathi were present in this program.

Under this, 52 episodes of 15 minutes duration will be telecast every Friday on Vividh Bharati stations, FM Rainbow, FM Gold and primary channels of All India Radio. Each program will be based on a specific theme of the electoral process. All 52 themes aim to encourage all eligible citizens, especially young and first-time voters. Quizzes, interviews with experts and songs produced by EC’s SWEP (Systematic Voters Education and Electoral Participation) team will be played in every episode. The event includes a Citizens’ Corner where any citizen can ask questions or make suggestions on any aspect of voting.

Voter Junction will be conducted in 23 languages

Polling Junction will be broadcast in 23 languages. Which includes Assamese, Bengali, English, Gujarati, Hindi, Kannada, Kashmiri, Konkani, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Oriya, Punjabi, Sanskrit, Sindhi, Tamil, Telugu, Urdu, Bodo, Santhali, Maithili and Dogri.