Delhi government announces 4 dry days from July to September

Share this post on:

New Delhi, 26 July: The Delhi government has declared four dry days for the period from July to September in view of the upcoming festivals.

On Wednesday, Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal gave his approval to the proposal brought by the Excise Department regarding dry days.

Muharram, Independence Day, Krishna Janmashtami, and Milad-un-Nabi/Id-e-Milad are celebrated during the months of July to September. The sale and consumption of liquor will not be allowed on these days marked as dry days by the Delhi government.

The Kejriwal government said the move was aimed at maintaining a dignified and solemn atmosphere during religious and national festivals.

The Excise Department of the Delhi Government has released the list of dry days for the period from July 1, 2023, to September 30, 2023.

According to this list, the festival of Muharram falls on July 29, Independence Day on August 15, Krishna Janmashtami on September 7, and Milad-un-Nabi/EEid-e-Milad on September 28. The government has included these festivals as dry days.

It is noteworthy that the Delhi government issues a list of dry days every three months. In this context, this list has been released.