72 years old history changed, Government releases new map of India, Leh becomes the largest district in India

Share this post on:
New map of India shows Mirpur and Muzaffarabad districts of Pakistan-Occupied-Kashmir in part of Jammu and Kashmir

New Delhi, 02 November: The 72-year-old history of the map of India changed on Saturday. The government has issued a new map by issuing notifications, in which the new borders of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh have also been fixed. With this, India now has 28 states and 9 union territories. The new map also shows Mirpur and Muzaffarabad Districts of Pakistan Occupied Kashmir(POK) in part of Jammu and Kashmir, which India has always described as its share.

Actually, after the reorganization of the state of Jammu and Kashmir, two new states of India duly came into existence on October 31. On Saturday, a map of both the new union territories was released. Before the country got independence and Jammu and Kashmir merged with India, 14 districts existed in Jammu and Kashmir, including Kathua, Jammu, Udhampur, Reasi, Anantnag, Baramulla, Poonch, Mirpur, Muzaffarabad, Leh-Ladakh, Gilgit, Gilgit was Vajrat, Chilhas and Tribal Territory.

By the year 2019, the state government of Jammu Kashmir had reorganized the areas of these 14 districts into 28 districts. The new districts include Kupwara, Bandipura, Ganderbal, Srinagar, Budgam, Pulwama, Shopian, Kulgam, Rajouri, Ramban, Doda, Kishtwar, Samba and Kargil etc. Of these, Kargil district was carved out of the area of ​​Leh and Ladakh district.

On 31 October 2019, with the formation of the new state, a map prepared by the Surveyor General of India has been prepared. On August 5, after the abolition of Article 370, it was announced that Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh would be made a Union Territories. These two states were duly made Union Territories on October 31. Simultaneously, the Lt. Governors were also posted at both the places.

Leh largest district of India
In terms of area, Ladakh has a larger area than Jammu and Kashmir but it will have only two districts Leh and Kargil. Leh district of Ladakh has become the largest district in India in terms of area. Apart from this, Kupwara, Bandipora, Baramulla, Poonch, Budgam, Shopian, Kulgam, Kishtwar, Udhampur, Doda, Samba, Jammu, Kathua, Ramban, Rajouri, Anantnag, Pulwama, Srinagar, Reasi and Ganderbal districts will be a part of Jammu and Kashmir.

Share this post on: